Thinx Review

This post is for the ladies. Who out there gets so annoyed with their period? Who out there hates wearing a pad cause you feel like you are wearing a diaper? Who out there hates that they have to double up on busy days? Who out there is always paranoid about bleeding through outfits? Who out there wants me to shut up and get to the point?

Ok so my point is I have tried the Thinx period underwear. It took me almost a year of seeing their ads before deciding to try them. I finally did though and I loved them. I still am not dancing around in light colored pants like women apparently do in all tampon commercials but I do feel more confident when wearing these undergarments. So I am going to break down what I like the most about them, and it is going to get personal.

My main skepticism when I saw the commercials was how weird it would feel to just be bleeding into your underwear. I also was confused as to how you would clean them. Furthermore did you need to bring an extra pair with you since they could only carry up to 4 tampons worth?!? Then I saw the price and almost had a heart attack. $30 for a pair of underwear?!? My jeans aren’t even that much! I kept seeing ads for them though and I honestly hated how on my heavy days (the first days of my shark week) I would double up on a pad and tampon and still be worried about leaking. So I ordered 3 pairs.

Like I said above, on my heavy days I would wear a pad and tampon. I did this since I am often stuck in back to back meetings and don’t always have time to change my tampons. I have bled through work pants before and it’s awful. Plus women’s work pants are so thin that I always worry you can smell things. I know they say it is a myth but I still feel like I have a definite odor down there if I have worn a pad for too long… thus these underwear are great. They solve my problem of having to wear a pad on my heavy days as back up. Plus since they are underwear I feel like they don’t smell like a pad. They work great, I have had no leaks!

These are definitely thicker than your average underwear. They can cause panty lines so you will want to wear thicker pants. They are also tight fitting around your legs. They fit tight though because you don’t want them to ride up and expose an area for you to leak. When I first got them I was surprised that they had little stretch to them, but the size chart they had online was helpful and they fit perfectly. They are moisture wicking which is great since I never felt wet when wearing them. I have worn them for 3 periods now as back up and am contemplating ordering more pairs.

This last period I put them to the ultimate test. I saved one pair to wear towards the end of my period. I still was bleeding but not going through my heavy days of 5+ tampons. It was like a 2-3 tampon kind of day. I wore just the underwear with no tampon to work. I did make sure to wear black pants that day. I had no problems with leaks. I didn’t bleed through the underwear. I felt dry. Most importantly I didn’t feel like I smelt at all. I ended up wearing these underwear to my workout class that night too. I did put in a tampon for this because I was worried the underwear would absorb my sweat too and I wanted to be safe. I was right on the underwear absorbing my sweat. After that TRX class the only dry thing on me was my underwear.

I really do like these underwear. It’s a great addition to my period routine. Also they are easy to wash. I throw them in the washing machine by themselves and I line dry them. I still don’t enjoy my period and I still won’t be dancing in a felid of daisies, wearing light colored pants, but Thinx Underwear give me one less thing to stress about and I like that.

3 thoughts on “Thinx Review

    1. pinsforthewins

      I have tried a menstrual cup. I loved that they were reusable, but I had a difficult time with it. I am not sure if I had the wrong size for myself or if I didn’t put it in correctly but I had quite a bit of leakage. I have been thinking about trying Flex next. I want to get to a point where I don’t have to use pads/tampons so I might have to revisit the menstrual cup

      Like

  1. Pingback: Small Changes for Greener Impact – Life From A.N.Z

Leave a comment