Just like the trees

Sometimes nature can teach you lessons in the most unexpected ways. Such as growing strong and beautiful after adversity. How beautiful it can be to let go. Consistency and time wears down the hardest of surfaces. There is always sunshine after a storm, and so many other lessons. A mother always has the best advice and Mother Nature is no different. I learned yet another lesson from nature though recently. We were sitting out on the back porch, the sun was setting it was a mild day and the wind had just enough of a nip to tell you that winter is right around the corner. I love days like that. I even had some mulled wine in my mini crockpot, so I poured a glass and just sat outside with Darren.

I was enjoying the rustle of the wind in the leaves when I looked at one of the trees in the back yard. The top of the tree was starting to change to a deep, gorgeous red. I was in awe at the juxtaposition and the beauty of it. As I stared at the tree I was reminded of the top down business approach to change. This approach says change must start with management and trickle down. I started thinking how this approach works with most change. I have to take a top down approach each time I make any change in my life. I have to realize that changes to myself come from within and are consciously made. I have decided to go to a therapist, because I have gone through some trauma and I want to be more kind to myself. I need to not hide that I am going to therapy and be kind about my changes. I decided to make this change and I decided to believe it will work. I am starting with my mind, and taking a top down approach to it. Once my mind is in a good spot again, I do believe I will see the results and changes I want to see. Just like the trees, I am changing from the top down, learning to let go and will eventually grow again.

Leave a comment